Passion for music of the world



Help FolkFreak in our efforts to promote your work.


Powered by

Eric Andersen (USA)

Eric Andersen, singersongwriter and guitaristEric Andersen was born in Pittsburgh in 1943. His main instrument is the guitar, but he also plays harmonica and piano.
Andersens career formed as he began playng the emerging folk scene in Greenwich Village, New York while in his early 20'ies. In 1964 he gave a concert at Gerdes Folk City, a central venue during the folk revival of the 60'ies. Following this concert, Anderson appeared on the Newport Festival and in the following years he began touring with Janis Joplin and other stars of the time.
His songwriting qualities began being noticed by other singers. Especially "Violets of Dawn" and "Thirsty Boots" became standard repertoire of upcoming folk singers.
In 1972 Eric Andersen released his most successful album, Blue River. His career was set back as the recordings for the next album disappeared and wasn't found until 19 years later. In 1991 they were released as Stages: The Lost Album.
Andersen keps releasing albums during the 70'ies and early 80´ties and appeared as support act for Bob Dylan and as a part of the Woodstock Mountains Revue.
In 1988 he released the albm Ghosts upon the Road, that was praised as one of the best albums of the year by the critics, but didn't become a commercial success.
In the early 90'ties Anderson moved to Norway, where he formed a trio with norwegian singer Jonas Fjeld and Rick Danko, formerly with the Band. They released three albums during the 90'ties.
In 1998 Anderson released another solo album, Memory of the Future. From then until present (2011), Andersen has released albums frequently, presenting a blend of his own songs as well as songs by colleagues.
Eric Andersens songs has been covered by many artists, among other Pete Seeger, Judy Collins, Gillian Welch, Johnny Cash and Fairport Convention.
  • Today Is the Highway (1965)
  • 'Bout Changes 'n' Things (1966)
  • 'Bout Changes 'n' Things Take 2 (1967)
  • More Hits From Tin Can Alley (1968)
  • A Country Dream (1969)
  • Avalanche (1969)
  • Eric Andersen (1970)
  • Blue River (1972)
  • Be True To You (1975)
  • Sweet Surprise (1976)
  • Midnight Son (1980)
  • Tight In The Night (1984)
  • Istanbul Soundtrack (1985)
  • Ghosts Upon The Road (1989)
  • Stages: The Lost Album (1991) *Recorded in 1972-73
  • Danko/Fjeld/Andersen - Rick Danko, Jonas Fjeld & Eric Andersen (1991)
  • Ridin' on the Blinds - Rick Danko, Jonas Fjeld & Eric Andersen (1994)
  • Memory Of The Future (1998)
  • You Can't Relive The Past (2000)
  • One More Shot - Rick Danko, Jonas Fjeld & Eric Andersen (2001) (2 CD's)
  • Beat Avenue (2002) (2 CD's)
  • Street Was Always There: Great American Song Series, Vol. 1 (2004)
  • Waves: Great American Song Series, Vol. 2 (2005)
  • Blue Rain - live (2007)
  • So Much on My Mind: The Anthology (1969–1980) (2007)
  • Avalanche (2008, reissue)[1]
  • The Cologne Concert - live (2011)
You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

Eric Anderseon plays Thirsty Boots 
You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

The Rain Falls down in Amsterdam

[Back to index] 
embed video powered by Union Development

Get your own Spot

As a Spot owner you can update your info whenever you like and advertise at discounted rates.
To become a Spot editor you must be representing the artist or the product presented in the Spot.

See how to acquire a Spot

Become an author

We need authors to write trustworthy content. If you have knowledge of artists, instuments or other products and would like to share it, you can become an author.

See how to become an author

Your events in our calendar

Submit your concerts, releases and other dates to us and have them added to the calendar. Your events can be submitted it several ways.

See how to submit your events